I LEARNT THE IMPORTANCE OF CELEBRATING MY LOVED ONES BIRTH DAYS.

Some prefer to  call it BORN-DAY.
MY birthday is my most favorite day of the year. Probably because I get way more attention on this day than on any other day of the year or because of the gifts..who doesn’t love gifts??
I’ll just go straight to my point. No beating about the bush.

So, my dad was born on 15th May.
This year my elder sister and I were not at home for his birthday.
We rarely celebrated birthdays at our place.
However, this year we were so excited about my dad’s birthday and we kept on telling my mum not to forget to make something special for him. My mum is a pro when it comes to organizing both small and big parties.
On the D-day my sister and I took time in thinking of nice Happy Birth

day texts to send to my dad. We finally sent them to him and he was really happy.

Part Of The Mini-Party

That night after work, he came home to a surprise mini party. My mother and small brother collaborated in giving my dad an amazing small birthday party.

It was just the three of them but quite worthwhile. My dad, the ‘techno man’  that he was took photos of everything and had my mum and brother pose for Selfies. He then sent them to my sister and i.

MUM DAD AND BRIAN
MUM DAD AND BRIAN

He was ecstatic!

Little did we all know that this would be the last time to celebrate his birthday.
He passed on on 19th. Just 4 days later.

Appreciate the day your loved ones came into this world. It might unexpectedly be the last to celebrate with their physical presence.
It doesn’t have to be some big flashy party. In fact, it does not really have to be a party. Make the birthday boy or girl feel special. Appreciate their life. Send them birthday wishes. Post on their Facebook wall or upload a photo of them on instagram..send them a text Idk….just do something so that you won’t have to regret if it ends up being their last.

I’m glad we did not let my dad’s birthday pass without notice. I’m sure it would hunt us forever.
I hope that someone will get to learn from this.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. BradRhame says:

    Wow! Very moving…Thanks for posting. Sounds like your dad had a great birthday and you have a great looking family. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jouwiee says:

      Yes he did 🙂
      Thank you

      Like

  2. This made me cry a bit. We surprised my Dad with a dinner party on his 74th birthday. We came from all over to attend. I asked my stepmom why she didn’t wait for his big 75th. Somehow she knew. He died 2 weeks later, right after Father’s Day. Celebrate them all !! p.s. I saw this post today, on my birthday. so…Thank you for that. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jouwiee says:

      Myyyy….so it dint just happen to me. Kinda consoling
      Thank you for sharing and Happy Birthday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are so very fortunate to have spent that great fun time with him. What a wonderful lasting memory. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jouwiee says:

      Thanks Eddie,, 🙂

      Like

  4. Angie says:

    My little brother and sister were born on 15th May too!
    Glad you gotto spend that day with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anonymous says:

    nice post Jouwie…we share the same birth month.he was an awesome man

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jouwiee says:

      That’s nice.
      yes he was ..he really was
      Thank you

      Like

Leave a Reply

